Skip to content

Simplicity

May 30, 2007

One goal for myself this summer is to remain content with simplicity. I have so many things around me that are delightful, but sometimes manage to miss “the forest for all the trees.” It seems like if I let myself, I can become most dissatisfied with just about any situation. That sounds terrible. But it is not going to be true of me anymore! My world is blooming right now. I have tons of great flowers and plants to tend to. I have beautiful children who love to play together. I have a house with lots of potential and charm. I have a husband who provides for us and has great vision. (Really, he does have 20/20, but I meant his vision for the future) I have a church family that is present, and provides great accountability. So many things in which to take joy.

Anyway, check out my newly cleaned off porch that is a tiny little haven in the mornings and evenings. The swing is a great place for a cup of coffee and a good story. It also serves as a nice place to plant yourself while blowing bubbles or eating popsicles with the kids, or just resting after pulling weeds. We like to watch ground squirrels and birds and bunnies hop around in the yard and wait for hummingbirds to get so comfortable at our feeder that they perch right on the porch rail.

See what I mean? This is good stuff. Why get distracted with all the extras? Contentment is the key word. I’m gonna get there.


10 I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity. 11 Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. 12 I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. 13 I can do all things through him who strengthens me.
Philippians 4:10-13

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

