Skip to content

Mmmmmm….pie……

July 10, 2007


This recipe is so simple and delicious. My daughter, who is 4, helped me make a homemade graham cracker crust for it, but you could use an already prepared one just as easily. She also helped me mix up and pour in the filling and it took so little time. No baking makes it a perfect recipe for summer. And no milk makes it perfect for my lactose intolerant husband and offspring.

We used peach flavored jello, but you could use any flavor and it would be just as great. The man of the house said it reminded him of cherry cheesecake which granted, he hasn’t had in quite sometime, but that got me thinking. Why not use cherry jello and add the pie filling on top? Oh, the possibilities are endless! So, give it a try for a refreshing summer dessert that is light and satisfying.

I also got the graham cracker crust recipe from All Recipes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ckjolly permalink
    July 24, 2007 9:54 pm

    gina,the funny thing about living Down Under now is that the fruit and veg I’m used to having around in July aren’t available till January!!! so topsy turvy! it’s a bit hard to grasp my head around as i’m preparing meals for my new hubby.Did you know that even tho it’s the middle of winter, Australians STILL have bbqs?!!Thought I’d stop by and say, “Hi.”I noticed that you had a link to my blog … thanks.christine jolly(woot! for Anthropologie!)

  2. gina permalink
    July 25, 2007 8:29 am

    Funny that I came to the pc specifically to comment on your blog this morning, and here you are! Sounds fun to bbq in the winter. My husband used to live in South Africa, though and they did the same thing, only they called it a brai. We usually hang it up during the colder months, but honestly, it’s hard to beat a meal that comes off the grill. On All Recipes, you can do an “ingredient search” so you can find recipes for whatever veggies are in season, or whatever ingredients you have on hand. It’s so easy! I usually go there when the cabinets are starting to look bare and BAM there’s another meal ready to eat. (not literally an MRE -that would be gross)

Leave a Reply

