Skip to content

Nothing But

July 30, 2007

Having children around is a constant reminder of our relationship with God our Father. Praise His name that he is so much more patient and loving than I am! I’ve wondered from time to time about the Israelites and haughtily stated that I would never have been so stubborn.

But then I look at my son, who is so small and learning to express and deal with frustration. His tantrums when something goes wrong are enough to drive anyone batty, and I feel like I have said, “use your words” one too many times. “Ask for help, buddy” and “no screaming,” seem to be permanently stuck on repeat in our house these days. Then, one day, I see him get frustrated, and raise his little eyebrows. His fists are clenched and shaking but he is not screaming. I praise him and say, “Yay! You didn’t scream. Good job, bud!” I think that he is getting it and breathe a sigh of relief, when half an hour later a shriek of frustration once again emerges from the living room and I am right back where we started.

I just think about my own issues and how disappointing it must be to sit back and watch as I struggle again and again to exercise patience and to guard my tongue. How over and over I let my heart become hard or I succumb to irritation and insensitivity to the needs of those around me, who I love the most. Then, I think about how much God loves me and how He just keeps on loving me and letting me stagger and stumble, but then get right back up and dust off and keep going.

Lord, I don’t want to be the ungrateful servant. Make me better. Change my heart. Thank you for my children, and for adopting me as your own. Thank you for the gospel. I am so glad that my salvation is not based on anything that I have done.

What can wash away my sin?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
What can make me whole again?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

For my pardon, this I see,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
For my cleansing this my plea,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Nothing can for sin atone,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
Naught of good that I have done,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

This is all my hope and peace,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
This is all my righteousness,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Now by this I’ll overcome—
Nothing but the blood of Jesus,
Now by this I’ll reach my home—
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Glory! Glory! This I sing—
Nothing but the blood of Jesus,
All my praise for this I bring—
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Oh! precious is the flow
That makes me white as snow;
No other fount I know,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ckjolly permalink
    July 31, 2007 7:40 pm

    did we go to the SAME Bible college?

  2. gina permalink
    August 1, 2007 10:42 pm

    There are so many, right?! Although I learned so much and met my husband there, I would probably put the decision to go there on my “things I might have done differently in my life” list.

  3. ckjolly permalink
    August 12, 2007 7:35 pm

    will my children go there? um … i would strongly advise them … NO! but i look back now and view it as amazing grace that i got through all 4 years. It was an intense course in sanctification. How easy it would be to become bitter (thus, the reason i have not blogged about my experience there … well, except for the nudie run story ;)I struggled a long while to understand why God would have put me through 4 years of legalism … and I came to the realization that as a result I am able understand those better who have been “burned” by legalism and am able to minister to them better than another would be able to.

  4. gina permalink
    August 14, 2007 6:28 am

    I definitely think we had similar experiences. Mine may not have been as hard core as yours, but still…I think you are right on. Well said.

Leave a Reply

