Skip to content

“Constructing” a Birthday Party

October 14, 2007


We had a fun week, celebrating the coming of fall and J2’s birthday. (Actually, my birthday, since I did all the work during labor, if we’re going to be technical about the whole thing. My father-in-law always wishes me a happy birthday on my children’s birthdays for that very reason. Thoughtful man.)

Anyway, since little boys are into construction, and mine is no exception, we had a construction site birthday party. It was so fun, complete with a toolbox craft, dump truck cake, tractor rides, and a Bob the Builder video. I find it easiest to keep birthday parties simple and straightforward. It’s tempting to get caught up in a bunch of ideas, but pulling them all off can be tricky. So I have learned to stick to just a few simple activities and snacks to keep things running smoothly.

I collected cardboard egg cartons and spray painted them to make toolboxes.

I used duct tape, folded lengthwise and looped through the openings at the top, as the handle and let the kids decorate them with stickers and stamps. I filled them with a few goodies and some tools that I found inexpensively at the local Big Lots.

Here’s a tip: make sure the tools you choose are small enough to fit in the egg cartons. Some of mine didn’t fit and were a frustration to the children once they got home. Oops! Live and learn, right?

Another idea that I found on Family Fun was to fill the back of a dump truck with chunks of cake and serve them right out of the truck. That’s exactly what we did and it was a big hit with the birthday boy, especially when it was emptied out and he could play with his new toy.


Boyhood, here we come!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rebecca permalink
    October 14, 2007 9:47 pm

    Soooo cute and you are just full of great ideas! I love reading your blog.

  2. jessica permalink
    October 17, 2007 10:58 am

    You DID go all out! “Can we build the most amazing birthday party ever?” “YES WE CAN!” Good job, Gina!

Leave a Reply

