Skip to content

Mid-Winter Thaw

January 9, 2008

It’s unseasonably warm here. I’m airing out the house today and getting some cleaning done. We may even be able to take a walk without jackets on. Nice, huh?

However, I thought I would share one of our favorite winter activities, in case you are in a part of the country where frigid temps are still prevailing. My kids call it the indoor sandbox, and once again, Jena is the brains behind this one. We fill a big plastic bin with rice, beans or whatever is on hand. Add some cups, funnels, spoons, cars, trucks or my kids’ favorites, little plastic animals. Dig in and go to town!

We have a rule that the rice has to stay in the bin in order to keep the mess to a minimum. (The rule exists for my 2 year old, who can tend to get carried away. However, if there is a spill, the clean up is so easy, and the threat of having to be all done is usually enough to keep him in check.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. bethany actually permalink
    January 9, 2008 12:52 pm

    I do this with oatmeal sometimes, or cornmeal! And rececently I tried pouring cornstarch on a big tray for my 3-yo daughter, and she spent a good hour playing with it, drawing pictures and erasing them.

  2. Fabíola permalink
    January 10, 2008 12:19 am

    Hi! Happy New Year! My name’s Fabíola and I’m brazilian from Rio de Janeiro, do you know?. I’m student of english, my english don’t is very well yet but, I would like to talk with some person that speak english. I would adore to know culture news. In future I intend to do exchange for Canada or United States. I have blogspot too and I found you in it. Are you interested in to talk with me? Do you have Orkut or messenger (MSN)?Can you understand me?My email is: fabiola-marcal@hotmail.comMy blog is: http://www.fabiolamarcal.blogspot.comByebye!

  3. randi---i have to say permalink
    January 10, 2008 9:52 am

    My kids love a rice box! I just try to get them to keep more of the rice IN the box than on the floor!We are expecting a windchill of -5 today so I am little jealous of your open windows and no-need-for-jackets weather! 😉

Leave a Reply

