Skip to content

Are You as Weird as I Am?

January 24, 2008

I received a challenge the other day from my good friend, Rebecca. I finally have some free time this week, and I am choosing to take her up on it. She seems to think she is the weirdest person alive, and she may well be. However, reserve your judgement until you see just how kooky I am.

I’ll start with the least severe:

1. I keep my spices (and potato chips) in the freezer. For some reason, that surprises all my guests and I’m not sure why. Doesn’t it make sense that they would stay fresher for longer that way? Nevertheless, it seems a foreign concept to many. (I mostly do it cause that’s how my momma did it.)

2. I hate hate hate doing business over the phone. I would rather travel 20 miles and face someone in person than to talk to them over the phone about business matters. (I usually talk sense into myself before wasting all the gas to go all over creation taking care of business, but that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t rather be IN YOUR FACE!) I don’t even like ordering pizza.

3. Although some people (you know who you are) think sleep is overrated, to me it is THE necessity of life. I must get eight hours (make it nine or ten to be safe!) or I am no good to anyone around me. When I was in high school I used to fall asleep doing homework, pen in hand. I might be able to survive on less sleep for a few days, but the result is my collapsing in a heap of tears and despair. I have learned to head it off at the pass and do everyone around me a big favor by just going to bed.

( I like this hat, is that weird?)

4. I cannot relax until the room I am in ( in my own home, of course) is tidy. It’s just so unnerving to me to sit and do something relaxing when there is chaos around me. How is that relaxing? Sometimes I will have to go to a different room just to be able to unwind.

5. I feel the need to shoo the creepies away. What I mean is that when something is strange, gross, or just plain weirds me out, I think it helps to shudder and shake it all away. It starts with an eye lid twitch, leading into a head tilt, then a shoulder shrug. It moves on down to my hands, and I shake them. (much like I would when I use a public restroom, wash my hands and discover that there are no paper towels.) It ends with a drawn out grunt of sorts, “ooo-eee-ugh!” There. All better.

6. As a mom, I take care of all the necessary mommy stuff. I wipe bums, do bathtimes, make meals, entertain and nurse the sickos. However, I don’t do boogers. I cannot handle them. I would rather clean up puke. Honestly. They make me gag and start in with the aforementioned shuddering and shaking and other shenanigans.

(This is a doll that my grandmother made for me when I was a little girl. Her name is Ginger. She is still a huge part of my life. I found her sitting in my dining room a few weeks ago, just keeping watch over everything. It was some sort of a stakeout, I think)

7. I bounce when I’m nervous, irritated, excited or scared. I just start bouncing. Not jumping, but bouncing my knees and legs. If I were seated in a pew or on a bench, the whole thing would shake and make everyone around me just as nervous.

How about you? Got any quirks?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rebecca permalink
    January 24, 2008 7:28 pm

    Excellent! I LOVE your outfit in that one picture. I have NEVER heard of keeping those things in your freezer, that is funny. I think I will google that and see if it really does work. Even though I hate wasting time on sleep I think I am getting to the age when I do need it, sadly enough, but I just can’t keep my eyes open lately. I am ready for a nap before breakfast begins and fall daily while reading to the girls. Love the pics too. I didn’t realize you all had that much snow in WV.

  2. bethany actually permalink
    January 24, 2008 7:51 pm

    Keeping spices in your freezer, sure, that makes sense to me. But…potato chips? 🙂 I’ve never heard of that. I keep all my nuts in the freezer, but I don’t think that’s too weird. Hmm, what are my quirks? Lemme think for a second…I know. Sometimes I HAVE TO KNOW the end of a story before I can read the book, or else it would be too intense for me to read it (the last Harry Potter book, for example). And sometimes I cannot watch a movie unless someone gives me a detailed scene-by-scene description (Signs).

  3. gina permalink
    January 24, 2008 11:18 pm

    Well, Bethany, isn’t it annoying to go for a bag of chips only to find that they are stale? Doesn’t happen when you keep ’em in the freezer. Try it! I understand the book thing, but I don’t think we could watch movies together. Hee hee. Signs was a strange one, though…And, Becca, We haven’t had all that much snow, but I can’t resist grabbing my camera when we do. I am jealous of how much you’ve been dumped on. If it’s going to be this cold, it might as well start precipitating, in my opinion.

  4. Rebecca permalink
    January 25, 2008 2:18 pm

    Hmmm… I have to agree with items 2 and 3. Although I well remember a time when I made fun of you for needing your sleep. Somewhere around a few years ago I started actually committing to get enough sleep and I guess I found out what I was missing. Of course, that’s compounded now by pregnancy. Why is it that you can’t seem to get enough sleep when it seems most needed? Great post, although I don’t think I’m brave enough to do the same!

Leave a Reply

