Skip to content

Cold Etiquette 101

February 13, 2008

Funny how life dictates our plans for us sometimes…


I felt pretty much like a drill sergeant today, barking orders about how to have a cold, if you can believe it. There were other issues that made it one of those particularly trying days. (you can probably relate, but I won’t go into all the details) Anyway, although I had other plans about what we would learn this fine February day, the following is pretty much all we accomplished. Here goes:

When you sneeze, don’t use your hand to wipe off the *ahem* “excess.”

HOWEVER…

“Snot, Mommy, snot!!!” is not a nice way to ask to have your nose wiped. Let’s try, “Mommy, can you please wipe my nose?” Much better. While we’re at it, why not just bring Mommy the tissue as well?

When said nose is being wiped, keep your mouth closed, so I don’t have to fish soggy pieces of tissue out of your mouth.

Also, if you sneeze in my bed, be sure to tell me so I can wipe it clean before I stick my hand in it.

Cover your mouth when you cough. (pretty standard)

Wash your hands often.

It’s nice to share with your sibling, but not cups and food.

Be sure to drink all the yummy fluids Mommy provides for you, and take those vitamins without complaint. They are especially important right now.

Don’t feel sad if I wipe down everything that you touch or occasionally wipe your sweet, yet slimy kisses from my cheeks. It’s just for today!


As this day comes to an end, I can certainly say that I am looking forward to a new day tomorrow. I also hope I get some sleep tonight. Sleep always gives me a new and fresh perspective on life. And, as the beloved Anne Shirley once said, “Tomorrow is always fresh, with no mistakes in it.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    February 13, 2008 7:42 pm

    I completely agree with everything you say about today, I just wish that you could have posted this earlier so that I could have said things clearer to my kids – Oh well, tomorrow is a new day, hopefully with less snot. Jena J.

  2. Rebecca permalink
    February 14, 2008 8:29 am

    Hope you all are feeling better!

  3. Rebecca permalink
    February 15, 2008 2:56 pm

    Oh, the things I have to look forward to!

  4. TulipGirl permalink
    February 16, 2008 1:03 pm

    Ugh! My sympathies!

Leave a Reply

