Skip to content

Now, Speaking from Experience…

February 24, 2008


So, I’ve been wanting to post on how great this cookbook is, but didn’t feel like I had a complete grasp of the situation until now. This week, I made a bunch of purees to add to some of our stand-by recipes and also for some new ones from Deceptively Delicious. I think it’s great. Officially. And, here are some quotes from the kiddos.

On the Blueberry Oatmeal Bars (thanks for the heads up, Nik), “They have a wonderful flavor.”-A4

The kids were excited to know that they were eating spinach and that it was yummy.

On the Scrambled Eggs, “I want more eggs, please Mommy!”- J2

Here’s a varition, as well. I added broccoli puree one day instead of the cauliflower and we all had “green eggs and ham.”

On the Pancakes with Sweet Potato, well….there just weren’t any left. These were great for our family because we have issues with milk, and these had no milk in them.

That’s just to name a few. You also should really try the Chocolate Fondue. And if your kiddos are “dippers” there is a lovely recipe for Ranch dressing, as well as one for Ketchup. Mmmm…

Also, can I just say that Nestle’s got nothin’ on my mother in law? For years and years, she has been scoring cookie dough and keeping it in the freezer. Long before the “break and bake” days… Smart lady, eh? Here’s what’s waiting for us in our freezer when we need a little sweetness:


Something else that I discovered just this week, is that you can cook with a stainless steel pan and get NO stickage, if only you heat your pan before adding any oil. I tried it and it works! That tip also came from my dear M.I.L.

Do you have a favorite cooking tool? My absolute favorite utensil is a pizza cutter. It is wonderful if you have small children…I use it for pancakes, pizza, sandwiches, quesadillas, cake…you name it.

So, enjoy your kitchen this week. Invite your kiddos in to help and be sure to eat your veggies!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    February 26, 2008 2:04 pm

    Thanks for the great links to some great recipes! By the way, my favorite cooking tool is aluminum foil – no mess! – Jena

  2. Rebecca permalink
    February 26, 2008 2:39 pm

    I can’t wait to try some of these ideas. It seems like they go over well. I can never remember when to add the oil first and when to heat the pan first… Good reminder!ps- all the “word verification” letters read like elvish to me!

Leave a Reply

