Skip to content

Clippings

February 29, 2008


I love that my grandmother still sends me newspaper clippings. Even in this world, where we are so connected, I still write actual letters back and forth with her. It thrills me to no end to get a letter in the mailbox, mid the coupons for fast food and credit card offers that pour in daily. After reading my laments about potty training, she recently sent me this article from the Roanoke Times. When I did a search, there it was for me to share with all of you. Good stuff…good for a laugh. Here’s an excerpt:

Potty training may “free” a family from diapers, but it also shackles them to public restrooms, where beginning toileters gleefully run their hands along the walls, drop their toys into the john and slide back and forth under stall doors to say “hi” to all the nice ladies.

It’s an experience I’m not eager to repeat. And so, though I realize it will be awkward for him at sleep-over camp and, well, on the high-school swim team, my youngest child is welcome to wrap his rump in Pampers for as long as he likes. And if the experts chide me for depriving him of a crucial life skill, I’ll tell them to blame it on my desperate urge for order.

So here’s to another day, fresh, with no mistakes (or “accidents”) in it….YET!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rebecca permalink
    February 29, 2008 12:19 pm

    How old is he? Emma trained quick but Hannah and Nora took time. Whenever i pushed it I would have to stop for a few months to give them a break and then try over. Eventually they WANTED to do it and that made all the difference. Nothing like princess panties for motivation, ya know. Just this past month I have made it past no accidents and they are over 4 so no worries…it will happen. They still have accidents from laughing too hard but I remember those too so I don’t blame them. 🙂

  2. Hurrayic permalink
    March 1, 2008 3:12 pm

    My grandfather used to do this – I’d get a newspaper article, carefully snipped and folded and stuffed into a quick note. I love getting snail mail that is not a bill or an advertisement. My sons even vie for who will ‘get the mail’ today. Often it’s disappointing, but I suppose if we want to get fun mail, we need to send it too! Love that old photograph. And, thanks for your comments on my blog!

  3. gina permalink
    March 2, 2008 8:19 pm

    Isn’t it delightful? The getting and the sending. It’s all fun.

Leave a Reply

