Skip to content

Snow, Cowboys, and Staying Green

March 8, 2008

Posting has been sporadic lately, and I apologize…I do believe I may have a case of the post-winter/ pre-spring “blahs.” Here is a little of what we have been up to in our little absence from this home on the web.

Watching it snow…

Baking a little bread for some Cowboy Sloppy Joes from this cookbook, which you can get used on Amazon for as little as $.73...

Looking forward to spring…

Green Smoothies…yum! Don’t knock it until you’ve tried it. Be sure to browse around this little blog, too. There are some interesting links and fun projects to try. Most recently, a list of links and ideas for the many things you can make with a dishtowel. Intrigued?


Here is a mini-tutorial on some fridge magnets we’ve been making. Inspiration came from my husband, who used to make them for me while he was at work waiting on deliveries when we were first married. (the bubbles say, “I like you” and “Yup”–I would have been curious if I were you!)
You’ll need:

-Those magnets that are stuck to the front of phone books, you know the ones, I’m sure.
– Picture cut-outs from magazines or greeting cards. (Greeting cards are better, because they are sturdier.)
-Glue
-Scissors
-Pen


Trace the outline of the picture onto the magnet, then cut out the shape.

Glue it together and viola! You might also need to place it under a heavy book while it dries to prevent the edges from curling up.

We also like to make magnets from the tops of frozen juice concentrate cans. Just cut out a circle, draw a picture and glue it on. Then attach a piece of magnetic tape to the back and you have yet another thing to clutter up you refrigerator!

Sorry the pictures turned out so dark this time. It must be all the grayness that is surrounding us these days.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. samuel permalink
    March 8, 2008 10:54 pm

    Actually, the original old man said “Sam loves Gina” and the second old man said “Yup.” But the “Sam loves Gina” part fell off sometime in the eight years we’ve been married. Not symbolic at all. Sam loves Gina more than ever.I stuck the “I like you” sticker on there one day after our daughter, in one of ten-thousand such occurrences, stuck a sticker on me. That’s about all I have to say about that.”Nice, story Sam.” Thank you, I said.

  2. Kevin permalink
    March 10, 2008 7:00 pm

    Great post. The bread looks SOOOO yummy! Beautiful HUGE snowflakes–my favorite. I have also been into making smoothies so thanks for the idea!-Oh, I guess Kevin is signed in so it will look like this from him but it is from me–Rebecca. I am just too lazy to sign him out.

Leave a Reply

