Skip to content

Some Ideas for Your Passion Week (end)

March 19, 2008


What season in a Christian’s life should be even more special than Christmas?

The season of lent and the days leading up to Resurrection Day, of course.

For some reason, though, we don’t spend as much time preparing for it as we should. I’m not pointing any fingers…I’m as guilty of letting it slip up on me as the next person. But, I received a gift in the mail this year from my grandmother, along with a couple of books for small children, (Benjamins’ Box and The First Easter) that got the wheels turning. We have been and plan to be very busy over these last few days.

Tonia has had some quiet observations about lent, Palm Sunday, and Easter as of late…take a peak if you have the time.

I know I have recommended this book by Noel Piper before (about making meaningful traditions in your family), but I continue to use it and highly recommend it. You can read what is basically an excerpt from the section about Easter here. You can also find the recipe for an Easter Mountain in the same article.

Here is a list of ideas, books and recipes that might help you get started, if this is all a little overwhelming. (Since we are a family with nut allergies, we will be using this alternative recipe for Resurrection Buns instead of the resurrection cookies on Sunday Morning.)

One more book that isn’t as much for the kiddies that I really like in preparing my own heart for this season is No Wonder They Call Him the Savior, by Max Lucado.

I know there are a lot of links here, but I probably won’t be checking in again until next week. We have some celebrating to do! So enjoy your weekend, and make it meaningful.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. GrammaMack permalink
    March 21, 2008 5:23 pm

    Wishing you and yours a blessed Easter, Gina!Could you please let me know where you found the plain wooden blocks in your photo? We had some for our boys when they were small, and I’d like to get some for our grandsons, but I haven’t found them anywhere.Thanks, and hope to see you all soon–when HannOni arrives!

  2. gina permalink
    March 21, 2008 8:39 pm

    Yes, HannOni seems to be taking his or her time, wouldn’t you say?My neighbor gave us those blocks and her husband actually made them, but Amazon sells several different kinds. I’ll email you some links.

Leave a Reply

