Skip to content

"Too Much Good"

April 1, 2008

That title is a quote from one of my kids about how much they like these yummy sausage balls.
They are a favorite in our house…however, when you look at the recipe you will be appalled at how, ahem…NOT good they are for you. I have lightened them up a little, and this is how.


I use turkey sausage, for one…it’s in the freezer section of our grocery store, and costs less than regular pork sausage. However, losing some of that fat makes them a little drier, so I add about 1/2 cup of bean puree from my Deceptively Delicious stash. This added moisture also cuts down on the amount of cheese you need as well. They freeze really well, so you can keep them on hand for breakfasts or snacking times. And, by making them a bit smaller, you can come out with about 6-7 dozen.

As an added bonus, (and a few more fat grams!) you should really try the dip. I don’t make nearly as much as the recipe calls for, and we prefer two Tbsp of mustard rather than one. You can use low fat mayo, too.

This is going to be one of the snacks served at the tea party, as well as these mini frittatas, which I have never made before, but trust the source.

I’m making as many things ahead of time as I can, so that I can just pull them out of the freezer the evening before and they will be ready to warm and serve. Also on the menu are the following:

Mini Irish Scones with jam and mock Devonshire Cream
Lemon squares
Whatever fruit is on sale this week…
Strawberry Cupcakes

Oh…and tea of course!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    April 2, 2008 9:27 am

    How fun – can’t wait! Maybe I should use this as an “opportunity” to buy a new outfit;)! -Jena

Leave a Reply

