Skip to content

Tea Time

April 7, 2008


String up some twinkle lights, put out a few balloons, some cucumber sandwiches and scones, heat up the tea kettle and what do you have? A fabulous tea party.


We converted our bedroom into a dress up room for our little ladies in waiting, complete with more hats than you can imagine and plenty of jewelry and other dress up necessities. There were even ties and hats for the little men that joined our crew.



It was a fun day, even for the adults. (I am speaking for myself, of course–but I think all the rest had fun, too) It was so nice to have a few extra sets of hands to help keep things moving, so thanks to you all. (you know who you are!) That seems to be important when having parties for smallish children. Lots of activity to keep everyone busy and lots of help for camera operation (vital!), serving, refills, trips to the bathroom, game time…whatever.


We started out with some dress up time, then moved on to place mat decorating. By that time, the tea was ready to be served. (note to self: next time, pour the tea WAY in advance to allow time for cooling. Or have ice cubes ready in waiting for quick cool down time!) Anyway, we had a full menu of cucumber sandwiches, jelly sandwiches, sausage biscuits, mini frittatas, scones with all the fixings, lemon squares and later, pink cupcakes and rainbow sherbert (for my lactose intolerant offspring) We DO love to eat in this family, can you tell?


After they were all done eating, (the kids all waited so patiently for my two slowpokes to finish!) we moved into the living room for a rousing game of Candyland on DVD. Hubby and Mark graciously took care of that part.

On to sweets and gift giving…the best part.

Our party favors consisted of white lunch bags, stuffed with goodies, then stapled in the shape of a tea bag, with tags for each guest with their name printed neatly so our birthday girl could READ each name. (all by herself) You can see an example here. The bags contained a few little dress up things, mostly jewelry for the little girls. I had a harder time finding things for little boys, so I ended up constructing little ties out of felt, elastic and snaps. I think they were a hit.

There are a couple things I like to do to make birthdays a little more special. First, I love to decorate the kids’ rooms while they are sleeping and when they wake up they know it is going to be a special day. Some thoughtful friends did this for me when I was in college and it has carried through until now! (Thanks, LEAH and ERIN!!!)

I also like to bring out our photo albums and place them throughout the house so everyone can see and reminisce. That started with my sister in law, who is also named Gina. I think it is such a lovely touch. What are some birthday traditions in your home? I’m always up for more ideas.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Rebecca permalink
    April 7, 2008 2:03 pm

    BEAUTIFUL! Love all the pics to go along with it too, made me feel like I was there as well. You did a great job! We decorate above their beds while they are sleeping as well. One thing I have done the last few years is make a video. The first year took the longest to make but now I just add on. I put video of me pregnant, videos while they were babies up till the present and I play have it playing on a loop. Last year I made a slideshow online with music and had that playing on my PC for people to stop and watch…but the girls love it as well. Emma is turning 6 in July so I am going to get more organized this year and have games. It has always been so hard to handle kids, camera, videocamera, food, potty trips, etc…I have never wanted to add the game part. Thanks for some cute ideas!

  2. gina permalink
    April 7, 2008 2:54 pm

    I love the video idea! I don’t know about your kids, but mine LOVE to see themselves on video. They would like that idea a lot.

  3. Rebecca permalink
    April 7, 2008 4:59 pm

    Gina, you do such a good job! You are a wonderful example to me and I’m excited to try some of your ideas out with little Luke in a couple of years. Thanks for letting us all feel like we were there for your girly’s big day. We love you guys!

  4. jena permalink
    April 7, 2008 8:07 pm

    I must say it was a lovely party indeed! I am so glad you blogged about it – that way I will know where to go when Abbi is ready for her tea party ;). Of course both of my older kids are wanting tea parties all the time since they had the privilege of attending yours! Thanks for the fun, food, and fellowship – cheesy huh?! but true!

  5. Randi permalink
    April 8, 2008 8:32 am

    What a perfect party! Any little girl would have loved it!

  6. Jessi permalink
    April 10, 2008 9:35 pm

    I had fun at your tea party! Like Rebecca said, I’ve learned a lot about birthday paties from moms like you and Jena…thanks for leading the way. One thing my parents did for us that we did for our son this year was to put the “big” gift that they got for us beside our bed during the night. It was great to see our little guy tooling around on his tricycle in his dinosaur pjs (a gift from you). Also, Josiah decided to light his “2” candle and sing happy birthday to him when we came to get him out of his crib. Big hit. And, we used your idea of decorating the room. Thanks for helping make his day so special!

  7. Candace permalink
    April 12, 2008 10:32 am

    Gina-You are so creative and i love all the ideas that you put on your blog. I will be saving them for when Addy is older… hard to do a tea party now! 🙂 Keep them coming!!!Candace

Leave a Reply

