Skip to content

Cooped Up

April 27, 2008

It’s been a rough week. We quarantined ourselves this past week because of an awful stomach virus. I’ll spare you all the details, but suffice it to say it’s taken nearly a week to recover and our dear cousins are still fighting it, with one little guy in the hospital from dehydration.

So, I’ve honestly found little to inspire me this week other than the nearest trash can and hours upon hours of Little Einsteins. Oh, and Cars. I feel like our imaginations are out there somewhere, but it’s going to take us a few days to rediscover them. Besides T.V., I feel like we exhausted every activity that exists in our house. (I’m sure we can chalk that gross overstatement up to lack of sleep and sustenance throughout the week.) Seriously, the kids really were troopers. They kept themselves busy while I was unavailable to them and they got along really well for the most part. Also, I discovered that these paper dolls might well be the best 9 bucks I’ve spent in a while.

The quest to learn embroidery continued…poor little brother in the background! Pitiful, I know!

I am so thankful to the Lord for sunshine and fresh air this week , though. I enjoyed our breezy front porch so much. And, from my spot on the porch swing (the very still porch swing, I might add) I listened intently to the bird songs, lawn mowers, airplanes and geese. Oh, and the giggles and Tow Mater impressions, that emanated from the sandbox. I did say it was hours and hours, right?

Anyway, that’s my sob story

and here’s to a healthier and more creative week!


I am so thankful the Lord for the sunshine and fresh air this week! I don’t know when I have been more grateful for my fresh and breezy front porch. From my spot on the porch swing, (a very still porch swing, I might add) I was able to enjoy the bird songs, lawn mowers airplanes and geese more than I ever thought I could.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rebecca permalink
    April 28, 2008 9:58 am

    You poor thing. I hate weeks like that! I hope it is gone for good. I LOVE the last pic with the shoes. Get that in a frame! So cute. Hope you are having nice weather, fresh air to clear your head and give you energy to move on.

  2. Natalie permalink
    April 29, 2008 3:56 pm

    Gina- I just recently discovered your blog and it has me so excited about motherhood…thanks for all the ideas- I’m sure I’ll refer to your words of wisdom/creativity a lot more as the years progress!!

Leave a Reply

