Skip to content

Reaching Out

May 19, 2008

I have a group of friends who encourage me to be a better mom and wife. We meet weekly with our kiddos, and share coffee and tea, a meal, some laughs, recipes, childrearing help, ideas, inspirations, and whatever else happens to be on anyone’s mind that particular day. It has proved to be invaluable to all of us. (kids included!)

Since that first awkward meeting in my home about 2 years ago, we have all managed to find our way around each other’s houses and kitchens, so we all know where things go and how to make cleanup a quick and easy thing. We’ve opened up about our weaknesses and have become willing to listen to helpful advice from our friends, who are all basically experiencing the same kinds of struggles on a daily basis. We all seem to have the same burdens for our families and this friendship bleeds out into other areas of our lives: when babies are born, when there is sickness, heartache, fear and frustration. And I feel like I should add, that WE DON’T BASH OUR HUSBANDS!

I am saying all of that to say this: do you know someone to whom you could reach out? Someone who has something in common with you? A new baby? A child the same age as yours? A husband with the same interests as your husband? You will never know what inviting them over for lunch could do to change the way you live your life until you try. Seriously. It takes courage for some to open up that way. (And did I mention that our first few meetings were awkward?) No matter if your house isn’t perfectly straight, or if all you have to offer them is a grilled cheese sandwich and some tomato soup. No matter if you think you won’t have anything to talk about. You will. It’s easy, as a mom, to hide…to become so wrapped up in your own life that you think you don’t have time for anything else. I am saying that when you let people in, it will be rewarding to you. Make time.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    May 19, 2008 11:52 am

    I definitely have women that have mentored me, and they don’t even know the influence they have had. We planted our garden this weekend, hence the short posts. I’ll have pictures up soon. It’s a great thing that you are all doing, Em

  2. Natalie permalink
    May 19, 2008 2:47 pm

    I’ve really been challenged in the last couple weeks to cultivate more meaningful relationships with women up here. I miss my WV mentors so deeply- but I need to bloom where I’m planted, and appreciate your challenge.On a lighter note, Joseph and I are heading down for Memorial Day so hopefully we’ll get to connect!

  3. gina permalink
    May 20, 2008 6:40 am

    Can’t wait to see pics of your gardening adventures…It would be so neat to see you Natalie!

  4. Angela permalink
    May 20, 2008 9:35 am

    I really appreciate your encouragement. My playgroup has been hit and miss.

Leave a Reply

