Skip to content

A Full Week

June 20, 2008

For Father’s Day I came up with a T-shirt idea for the daddy in our lives, inspired once again by art from my eldest. I intended it to be something he would wear around the house, with some comfy (but very manly) pants to go with it, but it is now his favorite shirt. It’s already seen the light of day a time or two. Can you see the faces? They are, from left to right, frustrated, happy, mad, sad, surprised and silly.

It’s been a full week, with many reasons to celebrate. After a lazy Father’s Day at home (give the man what he wants!) We had a fabulous night out a few days later, celebrating our eight years. (thanks to some great friends who took charge of the kiddies for an evening.)

On our actual anniversary day, we were taking care of a sick little one. In the middle of the night, midst washing sheets and various other midnight tasks, he was the first one to realize it, and said, “Happy anniversary, honey.”

Upon my return from a jaunt to the park with the child who wasn’t ill, I came upon a little surprise: some candlelight, a mini rose bush and a compilation of some of our favorite tunes to summarize our story. Sweet. You can see in the corner a little note that says, “that is correct, it’s a mix tape!” Does that speak to children of the eighties and nineties or what? Ah…nostalgia.


I love this silly, sweet song by Sara Groves. It’s called All I Need, from the album ‘The Other Side of Something.’ Isn’t this how we start to think when we get carried away with life?

Newly married, new apartment
All our furniture was saved from the dump
Yes dear maybe we can afford a trashcan next month

All I need is my love for you and a seat for two

New baby new life
We will teach him to speak French
We’ve got no money so we’ll make it all ourselves
I’ll make the curtains and you make the shelves

All I need is a power saw and a new sewing machine

Honey, this house needs a little something
That bare mantle doesn’t look so good
Someone told me of a man
Who makes animals from driftwood

All I need is your monthly bonus for a wooden walrus

Honey, the Colbaughs are coming over
This house needs some renovations
Just a wall or two, just a little room
And a few new decorations

All I need is a sectional and a satellite TV
and dark-wood cabinets that were custom built for me
and a painting by that guy that paints with his feet…

That’s all I need
For now

var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.”
: “http://www.”);
document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”));

var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-2950678-1”); pageTracker._initData(); pageTracker._trackPageview();

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    June 20, 2008 3:41 pm

    Gina, it makes me so happy to see other couples in this stage of marriage thankful and joyful. That is pretty crazy that it has been 8 years. Seriously, where does the time go?

  2. Kevin permalink
    June 21, 2008 7:10 pm

    Happy anniversary to you, happy anniversary to you…It seems like only yesterday we were all single and laughing at the word “spatial”, with no other care in the world than figuring out where Dean Carfrey gets his interpretations from…Honestly, that spatial thing still cracks me up… I’m chuckling right now.May God in His mercy grant you another 60 years of difficult, trying, laughing, sorrowing, invigorating marriage that makes no human sense. And at the end, may folks wonder how you did it so well, for so long. God bless you both.

  3. gina permalink
    June 22, 2008 7:08 am

    Thank you, friends! Kevin, those words mean so much, es-spatial-ly coming from you. You are a tray-sure. For the record, I still care about where Dean Carfrey came up with some of that stuff…wait…no. No I don’t. Hee heeWe hope to be laughing with you again soon in a different setting, with kids around and lots more life experience to chuckle over.

  4. Jessica permalink
    June 24, 2008 3:21 pm

    Oh Gina,Would you believe me if I said that I had forgotten my username and password for blogger after being absent for months? Well, that’s the sorry truth. I’m so glad to find you again. Your posts are beautiful and I’m looking forward to trying the “pizza-pasta”!! (Anything with no oven face time is a winner!)I started a new blog on our family’s website. You can find me there.Good to see your hard at working title again!

  5. Jessica permalink
    June 24, 2008 3:22 pm

    Oh yeah.www.thecrossleyfamily.comI blame the pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

