Skip to content

Generations

July 1, 2008

I can taste the fruit of Eve.
I’m aware of sickness, death and disease.
The results of her choices were vast.
Eve was the first, but she wasn’t the last.
If I were honest with myself,
had I been standing at that tree,
my mouth and my hands would be covered with fruit.
Things I shouldn’t know and things I shouldn’t see.


She taught us to fear the serpent.
I’m learning to fear myself
and all of the things I am capable of
in my search for wisdom, acceptance and wealth.
To say the devil made me do it is a cop-out and a lie.
The devil can’t make me do anything when I’m calling on Jesus Christ.

Remind me of this with every decision.
Generations will reap what I sow.
I can pass on a curse or a blessing to those I will never know.

from this song, on this album. hope no one gets tired of sara groves. I never do!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    July 2, 2008 12:34 am

    never.

  2. GrammaMack permalink
    July 10, 2008 10:05 pm

    I recently treated myself to a Sara Grove CD, on your recommendation alone. I love it! (The earworms from her oh-so-memorable songs, not so much.) 🙂

  3. gina permalink
    July 13, 2008 1:43 pm

    hee hee. glad you are enjoying her, grammamack. just think, there are worse things you could have swirling around in your head!

  4. Rebecca permalink
    July 13, 2008 8:54 pm

    Always loved this song.Also love your picture. You and I need to get away to a beautiful, rocky beach with our kids and our cameras and just have a blast.

  5. gina permalink
    July 14, 2008 5:48 pm

    amen, sister. i’m there! (mentally, anyway)

Leave a Reply

