Skip to content

Taking It All In

September 20, 2008
Well, I have decided to stop counting. I have quit trying to calculate how many days in the last couple of months that the kids and I have been in our pajamas all day, or how many corn dogs they have eaten, how many hours of Playhouse Disney they’ve watched or just how many times I have burst into tears when some unsuspecting friend calls to see how we’re doing.

It’s been quite an interesting experience, this pregnancy–way different than my other two. It has left me feeling rather defeated from time to time. Just when I think I am getting back to feeling normal, I wake up and spend the day, umm…..sick. (I’ll spare you the details) I am approaching the 18 week mark and have some strong medicine that has helped me through those yucky days. Hopefully all will be well now.


Although I know it doesn’t help to dwell on the down side, I have found it very encouraging to count the ways that I’ve been blessed during all of this. How many times has my husband come home from work only to take over my duties and let me rest? Countless. How many friends or family members call or email to see how I’m doing on a weekly basis? Or how many times has someone come to the rescue with a meal, some company, a listening ear or encouraging words? Also, too many to count. I am thinking that the good definitely outweighs the bad in all this.

So, here I am, drawn once again back to the main reason I started this blog in the first place…to find the good and beautiful things in life and dwell on them. To think about things that are true and good and lovely, like good friends, pleasant children, a loving husband, a long nap on a rainy afternoon, unexpected help and encouragement from people who love us, good food at just the right time, a package in the mail, letters from my mother and grandmother, end of summer days that are just the perfect temperature, the joy of fall coming and all the fun that brings, the fact that I am starting to enjoy my kitchen again …and of course, NEW LIFE!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber permalink
    September 20, 2008 11:14 pm

    I love this post. It was encouraging. I hope you feel better soon. I’m praying for you. I guess you find out soon what the gender is – that is, if you want to find out. That’s so exciting!!

  2. mKhulu permalink
    September 21, 2008 7:57 am

    You are the best writer in your family. You are also my favourite!

  3. Jessica permalink
    September 21, 2008 3:26 pm

    Oh, how I can relate to this, and I started my blog for the same reason. It really did help me to consciously look for the good even though I often found it challenging at the time. I wouldn’t have made it without those meds either! I’ll be praying for you.

  4. Rebecca permalink
    September 21, 2008 7:30 pm

    You are doing great!–Keep at it! So nice to hear from you. I wish I lived closer to help you out a bit, but I will continue praying.

  5. Randi permalink
    September 21, 2008 10:18 pm

    Blogging has helped me to look at the bright side too. How wonderful that you find so much to be thankful for when you aren’t feeling well.I hope that you start feeling better soon and I encourage you not to feel guilty! The kids are fine staying in their PJs and watching TV. Life will change at some point and you can get back to normal.

  6. gina permalink
    September 22, 2008 6:33 am

    Thanks for all this encouragement, friends! I should have posted this sooner, but all your feedback would have left me in a puddle of thankful tears. (“Mommy’s crying again!”) Better this way, I suppose. It’s easy to feel, when you’re blogging, that everyone else has it all together. But we all have to remember that we’re only seeing a tiny glimpse into each others lives. And for the most part, it’s the fun stuff. It’s good to see the world through bloggy colored glasses!

  7. eleilia permalink
    September 23, 2008 9:40 pm

    Weep with those that weep, and rejoice with those that rejoice. We get to do both of those with you right now. What a blessing to have people to go through life with.

  8. Shelly permalink
    September 24, 2008 11:41 am

    Gina, I’m so glad you’re feeling better. BELIEVE me, I know exactly how you feel. It’s funny how much you miss the normal things. Things like cleaning the house or putting your kids to bed. Maybe it’s times like these that make us appreciate just being able to take care of our family, even if it’s just making their favorite sandwich! So happy that you can return to those simple, pleasant things!

Leave a Reply

