Skip to content

Speaking of Being Back in My Kitchen…

September 22, 2008

I’ve enjoyed a yummy array of sandwiches recently, the BLT ranking way up there. I’ve always loved the BLT, but hated standing and frying the B, and I haven’t really liked the B that has been cooked in the microwave. After a quick search, I have found my solution: crispy bacon, with no mess and no standing around, enduring splatters and greasy stove tops. I’ve enjoyed a yummy array of sandwiches recently, the BLT ranking way up there. I’ve always loved the BLT, but hated standing and frying the B, and I haven’t really liked the B that has been cooked in the microwave. After a quick search, I have found my solution: crispy bacon, with no mess and no standing around, enduring splatters and greasy stove tops.

Check it out!!

Pictured below, ‘Cheese Spread on Rye.’ It brings back childhood memories. I used to spend weeks with my grandmother in the summer, each week ending with a phone call to my mom to see if I could stay just a little bit longer. Usually when I came home, I had gained a few pounds, which were probably the result of a snack before bed each night consisting of peanut butter on Ritz crackers and a glass of whole milk. For lunch? You guessed it: Cheese Spread on Rye.

Here’s the quick and easy instructions in case you’d like to try it.

1 package cream cheese, softened
1 stick butter or margarine
1 jar sharp cheddar cheese spread
2 tblsp mayonnaise
2 heaping tblsp dried chives

Combine all in bowl with electric mixer. It makes quite a bit, and I’ll warn you, it’s rich. Eat it alone on bread, or as a condiment on your favorite sandwhich.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. rebecca permalink
    September 23, 2008 12:07 pm

    oops… I just tried this method… it’s not so great if you’re dealing with a baby and forget about it! But, I really burned mine and it’s still edible. I can’t wait to try it again. Thanks so much for the tip.

  2. jessica permalink
    September 30, 2008 11:52 pm

    Gina,I tried this tonight and I’m never going back to the frying pan again (except for fried potatoes, and fried apples and fried chicken…ok, so I’ll go back to the pan). Thanks for posting the tip. So great.

  3. gina permalink
    October 1, 2008 6:37 am

    Glad to be of service! Yeah, the pan isn’t ALL bad, but for bacon,this is the way to go!

Leave a Reply

