Skip to content

To Post, or Not to Post

October 24, 2008

I wasn’t sure about whether to post this or not, since it could be a little controversial in our little worlds. (But, I haven’t posted all week, so I might as well go for it.)

We all have to do what is best for our own families, and I believe that making those choices is the husband’s ultimate decision and responsibility. (take comfort in that, ladies!) But if you’re unclear about what the scripture says about all of that, then Mark Driscoll lays it all out plainly here. Just a little challenge for men and encouragement for women who have decided to be keepers at home.

On a side note, the decision to stay at home requires sacrifice– something that is also addressed in this video. For us, it translates into the car we drive, the house we live in and the things we buy (or don’t buy) for the most part. Can I just say that I’m proud of my man for providing for us? We’re cozy where we are. We eat well, we stay warm and dry, we get where we need to go and we have extras. We’re blessed and we’re thankful for what we have and the life that we enjoy. Of course, I struggle with contentment from time to time…don’t we all? But I can never say that I don’t have what I need, and that boasts well that hubby is doing his job.

**ALSO, in case you decide not to watch this video, I should note that there are always extenuating circumstances. There are times, when the ideal is not possible for one reason or another.

Speaking of contentment, Nancy has a nice short post on just that. Give it a quick read.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. mKhulu permalink
    October 24, 2008 8:59 am

    I am absolutely satisfied with you, daughter by marriage.

  2. rebecca permalink
    October 24, 2008 10:50 am

    Wow. I nearly teared up imagining someone else raising my son. I am so thankful and blessed to have a husband who is willing to work hard to provide for us, without complaining. Thanks for posting this!

  3. Pam in Colorado permalink
    October 24, 2008 11:31 am

    I’ve been in both situations where I needed to work (and allow someone else to help raise my kids)and now for the past 11 years I’ve had the blessing of staying home and raising my own full time. Although, not always easy I’d have it no other way!

  4. Anonymous permalink
    October 24, 2008 12:14 pm

    These are always difficult decisions to make. I have also had to do it both ways and have found that both require sacrifices–some are the same and some are different. I currently work part time (sort of a compromise) just to make ends meet and don’t have all the “extras.” I did not get any impression of this here, but I think it’s paramount to not judge what others are doing and why, regardless of what it is. Unfortunately this will always be a “controversial” issue, but that doesn’t mean one mother cares more or less about her children than another. Good post.

  5. Jessica permalink
    November 4, 2008 7:44 pm

    Lay it all out anytime. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

