Skip to content

Money Saving and Smart Shopping

October 27, 2008

I’ll admit it. I’m not the best shopper. I love getting a great deal, but have a hard time finding one sometimes. Also, I feel like I am wasting my time by trying a lot of times, so I use the old “time is money” excuse and go ahead with a not so brilliant purchase. However, my interest is peaking in this area. (Could it be all the hype about our economy? Possibly. But I also just want to be more responsible on the whole) I am currently studying the whole CVS phenomenon, which is intriguing to say the least.

But here are a couple of really good links with great suggestions about saving money and being a smart shopper, saver and planner-aheader. (I think I just made up a word.)

Tonia, from A Study in Brown is always full of insight on this matter and seems ever conscious of the importance of living simply. It’s refreshing. Her latest post is no exception.

Molly Coddle has a list of helpful suggestions as well, mainly on grocery shopping.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. eleilia permalink
    October 27, 2008 8:38 am

    I really enjoyed reading that list of cost savers. I will be applying some of them. Cindy Moyers makes her own laundry soap, and I made fun of her. Your MIL said that she has done it, and I read some stuff on-line about it from super big families. I have changed my mind about it. I was telling a friend my plan, but she was concerned about the quantities that you would almost have to make so we are splitting it. The reviews say that it will cost a penny a load. Sounds like a winner to me:)

  2. samuel permalink
    October 27, 2008 12:34 pm

    One way to save money is to buy some of the things they talk about in commercials. They always say “save money.” I hope this helps.

  3. mKhulu permalink
    October 27, 2008 2:56 pm

    If you call in the next ten minutes, you can “save even more!”

  4. Amber permalink
    November 22, 2008 12:41 pm

    I LOVE CVS!! It’s a great way to get a ton of free items. Have you started your CVS shopping yet? I just started a few months ago and I can’t believe I never knew about it until now. It’s definitely one of my favorite ways to save money. If you are interested I could give you some great blogs to check out that basically do the work for you.

Leave a Reply

