Skip to content

Frozen Pipes and Colored Lights

December 3, 2008

It’s a first…

Since we’ve started our life together, I have always preferred white lights on my Christmas tree, with no argument from anyone else that I live with. Until this year. Someone (namely age 5 and under) expressed the desire that we use colored lights on our tree and I have graciously allowed such a change to occur. They are actually kind of nice and take me back to my own childhood, which is also nice. I am actually enjoying the fact that our tree is not the prettiest this year, and that there are considerably more ornaments hanging on the lower half than I would prefer, were I doing it on my own. But that’ s the point! I didn’t do it on my own. The kids had so much more enthusiasm for decorating this year that I just couldn’t help but step back and watch and enjoy. It’s truly lovely. Which lights do you prefer?


On a side note, another first (for this year, anyway) is that our pipes were frozen this morning. But see, our dryer vents under the house instead of into the great wide open, (is that a safety violation?) so things should warm up down there soon enough and there will be water a plenty. Guess I’ll have to go enjoy the kids for a little while longer until I can get my shower….

Stay tuned tomorrow for another first, only this time for Working Title. I will be participating in Randi’s Recipe Box Swap, something I have wanted to do for some time, but have never been prepared when the time came.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. jessica permalink
    December 3, 2008 11:44 am

    I prefer the white lights myself, but same as you, if the kiddos someday want the clunky, big, blinky, colored bulbs, then a Charlie Brown tree it is.

  2. Jessi permalink
    December 3, 2008 3:06 pm

    I’m all about the colored lights…maybe it’s just because I’m a kid at heart and that’s what we always had on our trees growing up. But, during the past few years I’ve thought about straying from our tradition and using white lights. I guess I have too much $$ invested in the colored ones to try…

  3. gina permalink
    December 3, 2008 3:12 pm

    every single strand of lights that i brought out this year no longer worked. that also contributed to the big switch!!

  4. randi---i have to say permalink
    December 3, 2008 11:05 pm

    I prefer white, but the rest of the family likes colored–so colored it is! See you at the swap tomorrow!

  5. Anonymous permalink
    December 5, 2008 3:50 pm

    Gina, seven years ago this brought out the worst fight of our marriage perhaps ever. So the compromise was that every other light would be red. That was before they started making them like that. So we spent hours remaking strands. Now we just buy a strand of red and a strand of white and “twirl” (Megan’s word) them. The results are spectacular!!! I had kind-of forgotten the reason why we have this beautiful tree, but I was reminded when reading your post. Thanks!!!Eleilia

  6. Bethany permalink
    December 5, 2008 9:00 pm

    I’m proud to say that I have spent $0 on Christmas decorations ever, so we’ve always decorated our trees with the autumn leaf amber colored lights we used at our wedding reception which aren’t Christmas lights at all. This year for the first time we have colored lights strewn about the house because my mom cast them off in favor of white:) Score for us!

  7. gina permalink
    December 6, 2008 5:06 am

    no Christmas decoration expenses? amazing! way to go, bethany! i bought a 4 ft artificial tree when we got married 8 yrs ago. (due to hubby’s allergies) we are still using the same tree, and i have to say i am enjoying these lights way more than ever. i think it’s because the whole thing was a joint effort this year…not just my thing. thanks for all the feedback!

Leave a Reply

