Skip to content

Advent Drippings

December 12, 2008

var gaJsHost = ((“https:” == document.location.protocol) ? “https://ssl.”
: “http://www.”);
document.write(unescape(“%3Cscript src='” + gaJsHost + “google-analytics.com/ga.js’ type=’text/javascript’%3E%3C/script%3E”));
It rained all day long yesterday. Throughout the afternoon and evening I began to notice an increasingly annoying dripping sound coming from the back of the house. Yes, the roof has a leak, or many leaks to be precise. I began to pray that the rain would just turn to snow, to slow that incessant racket. But then I began to ponder. Looking at all those little cups catching drips reminded me of one my friend Rebecca‘s favorite things :rain. You know why? Because it reminds her of grace and how it has been poured out on us. So many things that we have in life are undeserved. I know that more and more with each day that I live and breathe and botch things up along the way. But in spite of all my botching, the Lord continues to be good to me–something I obviously don’t deserve, but am extremely thankful for. All those drippy cups remind me of how much I have been blessed with. It has finally started snowing, and the dripping has lessened. But I’m going to leave them there for another day or so just to remind myself of how my life is dripping with blessings, especially during this precious time of year.

A lot of my ponderings during this Advent season kind of tie in as well. For as long as I have been a wife and mother (which in the scheme of things is not very long) I have come to feel “at home” with my situation in life. It makes sense to me. It is fulfilling in so many ways. We’ve been thinking so much about the first coming of Christ recently, but each night we end our prayer time with the simple phrase, “come Lord Jesus.” Because thankfully, because of that first coming, there will also be a second. And never before have I felt more at peace with that reality. If my life here (drips and all) is but a taste of what “going home” will be like, then I am looking forward to it more than ever. And that is a joyous thought to me, because I haven’t always felt that way.

So, as you’re thinking about Jesus coming to earth as a babe, remember that he is also coming again someday, and whatever joys we have in this life are only a taste of what will be. What a happy thought.

I’m confined by my senses to really know what you are like.
You are more than I can fathom, more than I can guess,
and more than I can see with human sight.
But I have felt you with my spirit.
I have felt you fill this room.
This is just an invitation,
a sample of the whole,
and I cannot wait to be going home.

Going home, I’ll meet you at the table.
Going home, I’ll meet you in the air.
You are never too young to think about it.
Oh, I cannot wait to be home .

from this album by Sara Groves

var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker(“UA-2950678-1”); pageTracker._initData(); pageTracker._trackPageview();

5 Comments leave one →
  1. mKhulu permalink
    December 12, 2008 8:41 am

    Lovely thoughts

  2. nGogo permalink
    December 12, 2008 11:21 am

    Gina, what a beautiful post. Sorry your roof is leaking, but what a gracious way to look at the constant dripping of God’s blessing in our lives. And He fills us with grace and mercy constantly. What a blessing to be content in the state (WV;-D) God has put you in. So many go through life, restless, never happy, not realizing God has them in that place to learn and grow. The more they fight the more restless they become. None of us have “easy” lives; we all face disappointment, fear, pain, etc. But with God’s help we can be gracious and teachable. And THANKFUL. It changes us. The joy and contentment you have shows in your face, your words, your husband and your children.

  3. jessica permalink
    December 13, 2008 8:49 pm

    Thank you, Gina. You have reminded me that I need to focus on the blessings that have been showered on my family and to just bask in that. I so often lately look at blessings as “challenges” or “teachable moments”. Sometimes a leaky roof is a blessing and I need to see it that way.

  4. gina permalink
    December 14, 2008 9:50 pm

    thanks for the feedback. it may sound petty, but things could just be so much worse than a leaky roof, (or whatever the drama of the day might be) but keeping that in mind isn’t always easy. i think we all need to be reminded from time to time.

  5. Rebecca permalink
    December 22, 2008 5:33 pm

    Hey chick, I have been very behind with keeping up with your blog. I went way back and am working my way up when I get a minute here and there. Love the rain picture and thoughts…thanks for posting and for the reminder. Love to catch up with you soon!

Leave a Reply

