Skip to content

Solidarity, Brother. (I mean, husband!)

December 19, 2008


In case anyone wonders, I agree with this. I have never felt downtrodden, or walked on in my marriage. If anything, I feel free, loved and protected… and I like it that way. Not really knowing what kind of readership I have outside my faith, I feel like making this statement is necessary to compliment what my husband writes about from time to time. Especially recently. Love him. Love my life. Wouldn’t have it any other way.

In marriage, my wife and I do not desire equality. We desire to compliment each other according to our gifts, our roles and the revealed will of God (as far as we have it in his Word). We are not two straight-lined boards placed side-by-side together (boring). We are two, intricate puzzle-pieces, detailed and different -fitted together in love and humility to each serve each other and God. We are partners in life with one mission, but different roles. We both happily, passionately, embrace these roles -these differences. We want to be able to be this way without being confused with stereotypes (which, sadly, are demonstrably true of some) of a domineering, inconsiderate man ruling his home with unchecked power and pride. That is unsightly, anti-biblical, and personally sickening to me. Husbands are supposed to lead sacrificially, humbly, considerately, patiently, lovingly. Like Christ.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessi permalink
    December 19, 2008 11:19 pm

    Thanks for supporting your husband, submitting to him, obeying God, and ENJOYING the good gifts He has given…diversity being one of them. You’ve been a great example to me. Love ya, sis.

  2. jena permalink
    December 19, 2008 11:48 pm

    Well Jessi said it all – so I second that

Leave a Reply

