Skip to content

Concerning Shots…

January 19, 2009

Might I recommend this book on vaccinations for anyone who is as confused about the whole thing as I have been? I never know what to believe when I hear different ones discussing the dangers and evils of vaccinations and the lethal ingredients supposedly contained in them. (I always start considering all of this when there is a new baby coming, and I always dread it)

This book is written by a reliable (in my opinion) pediatrician in California, and it pretty much explains each and every one, how it is made, how dangerous the diseases actually are and the risks of getting the vaccine as opposed to skipping it. (let’s face it, there’s a little risk either way.) It also provides alternative vaccine schedules for all camps, depending on the decisions you make for your own children. There are no scare tactics whatsoever in it, just straightforward information that is easy to process, and seems reasonable no matter what standpoint you are coming from.


I realize this is a highly controversial issue, and I do not wish to make this a forum for discussing pros and cons particularly. Honestly, the way I retain information just isn’t reliable enough for me to facilitate a discussion, which is why I will be using this book as a reference in the future. I just know that it was helpful to me and made me clearer in my own mind about what to do and how to best protect my children. If this is also a concern for you, then you will probably benefit from reading it. You may also find browsing the AskDrSears web site interesting and helpful for other useful information concerning childrens health. I know I did.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Shannon permalink
    January 20, 2009 12:14 pm

    Thanks for suggesting these resources. Living overseas, it has been difficult to keep up with US standards of vaccinations and it can be so confusing. And I didn’t even realize until a month ago that this had become a controversial issue in the States! Shows how out of touch things can be living on the other side of the world. 🙂

  2. Jamie B permalink
    January 20, 2009 2:27 pm

    This isn’t something I even thought about until Emma had such a hard time with her “boosters” last year. Thank you for bringing this book to my attention, it reminded me that I need to read up on it to better educate myself!! Afterall, in a yr or so, hopefully we’ll be ready to welcome a new baby buckland!

  3. Amber permalink
    January 22, 2009 5:45 pm

    Thanks! I read a different book when I was pregnant with Ava because I wasn’t sure what to do. But the book I read was a little outdated. So thanks for the advice on this book. I would like to read more about it.

  4. Natalie permalink
    January 23, 2009 3:07 am

    Gina- just got the 4 month shots today, I’ve come full-circle on this issue, but am anxious to get my hands on this book- still nervous about the MMR…thinking of postponing it, would you email me and tell me what you decided for Anne and Josiah? Promise not to get into a debate! I just trust your judgment!

Leave a Reply

