Skip to content

Things I Didn’t Remember

January 27, 2009

Spending the weekend with family to celebrate a new life was just what I needed. I hadn’t really held a newborn for so long. I had forgotten what it felt like. There’s just nothing quite like it. Precious. Lately, I’ve been recalling some of the unpleasantness of the birthing process, which has brought on some unnecessary fears and irrational worries. However, being reminded of the result of all that hard work brought a welcome change to my thought processes. Although I’m tired and ready to get back to life sans huge belly and all that accompanies it, I’m so looking forward to welcoming a new family member.

Oh, and a lady did ask me if I was having twins a few days back, so…..THAT was encouraging. However, this article made me feel a little better!

Also, I think I just heard my 3 year old use the word ‘otherwise’ correctly in a sentance.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. mKhulu permalink
    January 28, 2009 8:46 am

    Gina Faye,I can only imagine how uncomfortable you feel these days. Of course I don’t even know how accurate my imagination is on that score. What I do know is that appearing to be carrying twins is a good thing. If you deliver twins I will rejoice. But seeing you these days makes an old man very happy. You are the absolute picture of feminine loveliness. And I certainly know about that!

  2. jessica permalink
    January 28, 2009 9:00 am

    Yes, you are very beautiful with truly divine perspective. On a side note, when that brilliant 3 year old starts saying “As it were”, then we have a problem. Very cute.

  3. rebecca permalink
    January 28, 2009 3:24 pm

    And “furthermore…” Love you, sis. You look beautiful and I can’t wait to meet my newest nephew. Let me know what I can do to help. I remember what that last month was like for me, so I’m praying for you!

  4. Jamie B permalink
    January 28, 2009 3:26 pm

    No pain no gain – suck it up and breathe…of course I am just kidding. I was always so happy the first few days after giving birth as I studied my new little one from top to bottom, but I also really missed my prego belly. I pray the next few weeks will bring you and your family wonderful memories as you prepare to welcome the newest Smith.

  5. gina permalink
    January 28, 2009 3:45 pm

    wow! thanks people…if i had know i would get all these compliments, i would have let you know how sorry i have been feeling for myself a lot sooner. my checkup today showed that all is well,as it were, (that’s for you, jessica!) and in the end, isn’t that the important thing? now…i’m going to go and put my “fankles” up.

  6. gina permalink
    January 28, 2009 3:47 pm

    also, can you believe the little guy in the picture is the same one who is now using such big words in everyday conversation?

Leave a Reply

