Skip to content

She Said What I Was Thinking

March 13, 2009

Go on, Stefani. I love it when people love their lives. (Along those same lines, we purchased our first edition of the Book of Days. So fun. It comes highly recommended by me!) Her blog, Blue Yonder, is also very refreshing.

Speaking of loving life, I love mine. This 3rd baby has brought me to a new place that I can’t help but enjoy. It involves letting things go to bask in the little stuff. Have you tried it? It’s amazingly freeing. I am becoming more able to look past the little messes and enjoy the people who make them (including myself!) I am seeing a simple cup of tea on a rainy morning as a moment to treasure, as I listen to my kids’ funny conversations in the background and see my little baby sleeping on the sofa beside me, looking like a little burrito all wrapped up, snug and warm. Ahh…it’s a lovely feeling.


I smell a roast cooking away in the crock pot (provided by an extremely thoughtful sister) and I hear the hum of the dryer, which is not stressing me out, I might add. I cannot express how easy this transition has been, thanks to the people around me. I am just so thankful to be part of the body of Christ. I’ve had my laundry taken care of, meals provided, encouraging conversations on the phone, uplifting emails and comments on this blog and on Facebook, people who love my children who have willingly entertained them for hours and fed them and driven them places, delightfully thoughtful children who talk in whispers while I nap and clean their rooms without being asked, and an extremely patient and helpful husband who takes excellent care of us all. It’s all just more than I ever could have expected. So, thanks to you all…you know who you are. (And thanks for wading through some really long sentences in this post. Good thing I’m not the writer in the family!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jodi permalink
    March 16, 2009 8:53 pm

    I love you Gina and wish I were one of the people being helpful right now. I can’t wait to meet the new little man.

  2. Natalie permalink
    March 16, 2009 11:51 pm

    Diddo

  3. gina permalink
    March 17, 2009 7:55 am

    thanks for the feedback, guys! jodi, i love you too, sister. your comments are helpful and encouraging. by the way, someone i know is turning 30 very soon. might be a good time for you to kill 2 b-days with one visit! march is a good month for both of us, eh? I’m just sayin’…

Leave a Reply

