Skip to content

Don’t Care Too Much

March 20, 2009

I’m always looking for ways to encourage creativity in the kids. Below are a few of the things I have discovered recently.

Check out That Artist Woman and Art Projects for Kids for some ideas about art for children.

We all loved this video and were inspired by it. I have, as a result, stacks and stacks of paintings, drawings and projects to sort through. (Like I have time for that right now!) We simply cannot keep them all, but the kids have kept themselves busy lately, and for that I am grateful.

We also want to promote confidence in the work that is produced as a result of all this exposure to art and creativity. I loved the piece in the video that says “don’t care too much.” That simple phrase seems to embody that desire. If we love our art work and those around us also love it or are somehow inspired or encouraged by it, shouldn’t that be enough? It can be dangerous to care too much, I think. It reminds me of Sara Groves’ song, Why It Matters (from her Add to the Beauty album–buy it!!) and I have to agree with the lyrics.

“like a single cup of water…”

Art does matter.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tony Heringer permalink
    March 27, 2009 11:14 am

    Sam was right, I would have been dumb to pass this one up. Great video and post lass. I’ll pass this along to my wife who directs a fine arts academy. She would love this video and might send it on to some of her folks.That line in the song you referenced struck me too. I attended a business conference back in the early 90s and the keynote speaker was a hostage negotiator. Now that is an interesting job, eh? The phrase he used in describing his job and the art of negotiation is “you gotta care…but not that much!” That is definitely a good bit of wisdom for us and our little (or in my case, not so little ones). 🙂

  2. Betsy permalink
    March 29, 2009 2:01 pm

    That was great. inspired me to do more art with my students.Hugs to all of the Smiths in the lovely state of WV!

Leave a Reply

