Skip to content

The Ants Go Marching One by One

April 29, 2009

Onward! Forward! We’re at war and it’s intense. I’m trying this as a remedy, all the while my daughter is trying to count to one thousand. Perhaps she has been inspired by their presence? Who knows, but at least I am not required to be a witness to the entirety of her mathematical prowess at this time. I’m just in charge of making them GO AWAY!

Meanwhile, I’ve been enjoying this in my spare time. Hurry, it’s available for online viewing through Sunday. (As things slowly find their way back to normalcy around here, I’m finding ways to get things done and still have time for extras! occasionally.) Anyway, all this Dickens exposure is causing me to mumble things to myself in a British accent. SO FUN. Some words and phrases just sound so much better pronounced that way.

Since I last posted, the cherry blossoms have come and gone, the yard has been mowed and already needs it again, I’ve done school with the kids everyday, caught up on laundry only to be swallowed up in it again, begun planning fun economical ways to enjoy our first ever beach vacay together this year, made homemade playdough, and the list goes on. So much to do, so little time to blog about it if I’m ever going to get ahead. Life is good.

Now, back to my ant problem…and what’s for dinner? I think this (thanks Rebecca) and this tonight.


5 Comments leave one →
  1. jessica permalink
    May 1, 2009 6:55 am

    Your tip for killing the ants seems very effective, but if you need a backup plan….we used chili powder in Panama on surfaces that we didn’t want to put poison. It doesn’t kill them, but it makes them rethink where they were headed. Good luck.

  2. Kevin Jack permalink
    May 1, 2009 9:30 pm

    I have tried the boric acid thing, and never had much luck. I guess it depends on what kind of ants they are, and I must have never the right kind.I speak to myself all the doo-dah day long in a Julia Childs accent, and it has prevented insanity thusfar. What do you think, Julia? Oh yes, it has worked wonderfully…

  3. gina permalink
    May 1, 2009 10:16 pm

    well, i must say that the last day or so hasn’t been quite as prolific as far as ants are concerned…i am hopeful. however, i will keep the chili powder thing in mind. i’ve also read that planting basil around your house is a good all around pest deterrent. so there. all the pesto you want without any pests. between my own secret desire to be British, Sam’s ability to imitate any accent he hears and my kids’ impressions of tow mater, we actually sound pretty diverse around here. thanks for your input, julia.

  4. rebecca permalink
    May 5, 2009 10:02 am

    Maybe I’ll listen to a little british theatre as I work today… :)Also, I didn’t know that I was found at a spinach and rice casserole? :)Love you and your chicken turned out marvelously for church! Loved it.

  5. gina permalink
    May 5, 2009 11:34 am

    sorry rebecca. fixed it.

Leave a Reply

