Skip to content

Success Outweighs Defeat…Kind Of.

May 18, 2009

Can I play the “baby card” one more time? I have neglected my flowers and it is beginning to show. Weeds are everywhere and I have not the motivation to pull them. Each year my efforts get smaller and less detailed. Why didn’t I start out with simpler goals? Thinking BIG can get you into trouble in this department. Oh well, there are some beautiful things blooming among those weeds…I’ll take some comfort in that.

I used to be ashamed of how much waste there was even in my unpretentious herb garden here. I blamed inexperience, impatience, and extravagance. But now I have come to accept that one must not count the losses, they would be too alarming. One must count only the joys, and feel continually blessed in them. There is no unlucky gardener, for each small success outweighs each defeat in his or her passionate heart.

Mary Sarton , 1968

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessi permalink
    May 18, 2009 7:39 am

    It’s easy for me to get discouraged about my (lack of) flower beds and the very slow progress we’ve had in that department in the years we’ve been here. But, Mary is so right about the little successes outweighing the disappointments. Just Sat. I checked my lavender plant (the only surviving one of three that I started from seed!) that must have weathered the winter. A few months ago I almost pulled it up b/c it was brown and looked dead. Saturday, it was full of beautiful green bushiness! How encouraging!

  2. mKhulu permalink
    May 18, 2009 9:24 am

    Thanks both Gina Faye and Jessi Faye for your encouraging words. I just surveyed twelve little rows of three different varieties of corn. We had a heavy frost last night. Maybe some of my little cornfield will survive and actually be stronger for the cold. Maybe what remains today will be finished off tonight. Who can say? I know this, fewer activities have given me more pleasure (and wonder at creation and the Creator). So I hope we win, but whether or no, I love the game.

Leave a Reply

