Skip to content

Empty Nest Syndrome

June 2, 2009

Who knew it would happen so quickly? We woke this morning to an empty nest! Since I didn’t blog about them over the weekend, I thought I would sum up the end of our nature study in one big post, sort of documenting the childhood of these young’ns. Enjoy!

Fuzzy wuzzy was a…bird.
Baby birds can be so demanding!
They were constantly waiting for Mama Robin to feed them.

And she always came back to fill their bellies.
They began peeking out a lot more during the day.

The nest got more and more full until we just knew that their days in the nest were numbered.


This was the last picture I got of them before they took flight the very next morning. What a great experience this has been!

I guess I can’t put off cleaning the front porch anymore…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. andrewmackay permalink
    June 2, 2009 9:40 pm

    What a great experience for you guys… I have to admit, I almost teared up when I got to the last picture you got of them. I think it's maybe a little too analogous of what I expect to go through with our child (ren, if we're so blessed).Thanks for documenting it. It was fun.

  2. nGogo permalink
    June 2, 2009 9:55 pm

    Thanks for sharing with us from eggs to flyers….I certainly enjoyed watching them grow. It seemed they really grew quickly…I had no idea they would leave so fast. I guess it happens that way with our children too, as the previous poster mentioned. Enjoy the journey. I certainly did.

  3. gina permalink
    June 2, 2009 9:55 pm

    It was actually a little bit sad for all of us!

  4. Kevin Jack permalink
    June 3, 2009 5:12 am

    What were their names?

  5. Hamlet permalink
    June 3, 2009 5:15 am

    This has foul, fowl reality show written all over it.

  6. gina permalink
    June 3, 2009 5:42 am

    Kevin we didn't name them. What a shame. Oh well, that would have made it so much harder to say goodbye. Hamlet, I'll start making plans for next "season."

  7. mKhulu permalink
    June 3, 2009 8:50 am

    That was good enough for a PBS/Nat Geo/TLC/Discovery documentary. But why didn't you mention how that they used to be T-Rex and evolved feathers so they could fly? Otherwise you may have at least mentioned "Mother Nature". Now she'll be really p…..

Leave a Reply

