Skip to content

Sew Much Fun with My Girlie

June 4, 2009

I was so inspired and delighted with this post a few weeks back, that I immediately knew I wanted to take on this little project. That being said, I was not able to complete it in one afternoon like the fabulously talented Soule Mama. No indeed, it took all of three weeks to finish the job. However, I have one happy princess in my house these days, and no shortage of peas.

My daughter wanted to help design the princess, so I let her make a drawing of what the princess should look like, then embroidered that drawing onto a little pillow. Our princess is awake on one side of the pillow and asleep on the other–this was more time consuming than I anticipated, but worth it in the end. We used a green button for the pea. (For a small child, you might just want to sew the button to one of your mattresses to avoid choking hazards) We used two pieces of fabric that were 5×8 and a piece of batting the same size and sewed them all together to make each mattress. We chose to make 12, and in the days following this little photo op, we have since added a blanket and pillow to make our princess more comfortable. The next time we’re outside collecting things, I think some twigs are in order. We need to construct a ladder and our project will be complete.

If you’re not the crafty type, you can purchase a beautifully crafted Princess and the Pea playset of your very own here. I also saw a cute game on Amazon that follows the same theme.


The main things I had “help” with were cutting out the mattresses, trimming off the strings, and stuffing the pillow. Not to mention the overall concept of the doll’s design! Under supervision, these were easy ways to let my little one join in the fun.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. nGogo permalink
    June 5, 2009 2:40 pm

    This is indeed a very nice project especially if you have your own little princess to display it. Our princess was especially fetching as she shared the little green button and the many mattresses. What a good idea to involve our future homemakers in mattress making!Word verification is grasmen which is how they used to make mattresses..with grass, men.

  2. rebecca permalink
    June 10, 2009 8:01 am

    I love this! It is too cute and such a neat idea. I'm sure the little one had a blast helping you out. Maybe one day I'll have a little girl to help me sew?

Leave a Reply

