Skip to content

Childish Things

June 11, 2009

One afternoon this past weekend, I heard excited squeals coming from upstairs. They didn’t stop until my little boy came rushing into the living room, more excited than I knew could be possible over a little twig from the yard. Apparently, he had brought it in a day or two before and had been using it as bow, but then misplaced it. So as he rushed into the room, shouting the whole time, “Mommy, I found my bow!!!” I had a flash forward….

One day, I’ll miss being informed of every little event in his life. I’m not always going to be the first one he wants to tell about all the little happenings in his day. I just took a breath and joined in his happiness with him. One day, he won’t think it necessary to interrupt what he’s doing and come find me just to tell me about some little accomplishment. It’s coming sooner than I can imagine, I’m sure. One day, I’ll look back and remember a little guy so excited he could hardly stand it over something so simple. So today, I’m taking it all in. Today we’re both really happy about a stick.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. rebecca permalink
    June 11, 2009 7:50 am

    Wow. Great reminder. It made me a little teary. also- word verification was "sessi" which brought back some "Aunt Jessi" memories of your oldest.

  2. nGogo permalink
    June 11, 2009 9:07 am

    I'm afraid that is so very true. And I have more than one tear in my eye. But on the other hand side, you involve yourself in your children's lives now by prayer and getting to know them so well. As you do the things God has given you to do..teaching, providing, protecting, admonishing, training, disciplining, etc. you will discover that as they grow and change you turn those God given responsibilities back to Him over time and He will take over your mothering. (Maybe we don't turn them back to God, maybe he takes them back.) Not that we do it without Him, we partner with Him. But you keep up the prayer and loving and caring and sharing, especially praying for that one special someone with whom he/she will one day be sharing those details of his life. And when it happens you are so happy he has found someone who will be a life companion for him. It just seems right and part of watching him grow. Just as you miss it when your little one moves from one phase of life to another now…you miss the one, but the new phase is great as well. And then there are grandchildren! Gives you back a bit of those cuddles and you get to experience the excitement of finding a stick bow or as my word verification is "ingshot" I seem to remember a little excitement about a slingshot one day, reminiscent of his father's boyhood. I love you, dear daughter and am happy to be replaced by you. (Well not replaced.)I have prayed for you since the day I knew I was pregnant with your husband. And you are not only the woman of his dreams, but mine too. May all your dreams come true for your children as have mine.

  3. mKhulu permalink
    June 11, 2009 9:09 am

    What she said.

  4. Rebecca permalink
    June 11, 2009 10:28 am

    love it! thank you. 🙂

  5. gina permalink
    June 11, 2009 6:14 pm

    thanks nGogo. what sweet sentiments. and a great reminder to keep these little ones in my prayers. rebecca with a little 'r' i had forgotten about that. Big 'R' when are you coming for a visit?

Leave a Reply

