Skip to content

Couldn’t Do Without…

June 24, 2009

…the genius of other mothers.

So, here’s the thing. I absolutely hate to change crib sheets. It seems like the most difficult of tasks. I always come away with bruised wrists and hands, broken nails, dislocated shoulders (okay, that’s a stretch, but it wouldn’t surprise me!) and wounded pride. Unfortunately, it is a job that needs attention quite frequently, especially when one’s baby has diapers of the explosive sort. So when my sister in law told me that she puts several sheets on at once so that she can just pull one off when it gets soiled and have a clean one already there, I was pretty sure I was in the presence of a genius.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. eleilia permalink
    June 24, 2009 7:08 am

    I totally agree with you about this subject, but I was wondering if the sheets under it would be soiled as well? I especially hated changing sheets at night. I often would just move the baby to the other side of the bed.

  2. Jessica V. permalink
    June 24, 2009 7:22 am

    i had gotten a couple of crib quilts and i use those on top and tuck them in the sides so i can just pull them off when needed. they are a little short, so i put a flannel receiving blanket at the head to absorb drool or whatever. Changing crib sheets is a pain, especially if you're vertically challenged like me! 🙂

  3. rebecca permalink
    June 24, 2009 8:10 am

    Hey, great idea! 🙂 Also, I have a couple of those little quilted mattress pads that I put in between each layer. That way if it soaked through, you're still in business. One could probably use anything in between, though… 🙂

  4. jessica permalink
    June 24, 2009 9:32 am

    So funny. I just sat down from changing the crib sheet and opened your blog to catch up on you. And, yep, I know what you mean. I am sweating from the workout of changing the sheet.

  5. gina permalink
    June 24, 2009 12:27 pm

    absorbent pad in between…noted! more genius. i'm sure glad i'm not the only one who finds this to be a difficult task!

  6. GrammaMack permalink
    June 24, 2009 2:05 pm

    I'd just like to second the fact that your sister-in-law is a genius. 🙂 Also, haven't changed a crib sheet in many years, but always hated it!

Leave a Reply

