Skip to content

String Pictures

July 6, 2009

So, this book has now seen its third generation. It was my mom’s and she gave it to me when I was a kid. I spent hours pouring over what to do next. “What can I make?” I recently opened its pages once again for my own little one.


After just a few minutes, my girlie had bookmarked several projects that she wanted to pursue. We settled on string pictures!

So using a turtle drawing that I saw on Deep Space Sparkle, (which has some really great art lessons, by the way!) the line drawing in that lesson morphed into a string picture from the Do It Book.
With just some glue, leftover yarn and a section of cardboard from our cereal box, we had what we needed to proceed.
The results were satisfactory indeed.


Another quick and easy project was the felt bookmark, using felt scraps, glue and ribbon. I just drew some flower shapes and let her cut them out and glue them together onto the ribbon. You can see pics of this in the previous post about Independence Day. I imagine there are more of these in our future. A person can’t have too many bookmarks. One thing about this girl that I appreciate is her giving spirit. No sooner do we have a project made, than she is ready to give it away. I think that’s the way it should be!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gail permalink
    July 6, 2009 12:00 pm

    Very cute! You come up with great ideas!

  2. rebecca permalink
    July 7, 2009 3:45 pm

    Love it! She did a really good job.

  3. gina permalink
    July 7, 2009 5:18 pm

    Thanks, friends she did most of it on her own, so yeah, she did a good job for sure!

Leave a Reply

