Skip to content

When Hoarding is Appropriate

July 13, 2009

We took our annual trip to the blueberry farm this past week and came home with double the normal intake. Want to know why? My firstborn finally decided she liked picking a little more than eating this year. What do you know about that? No more ‘Blueberries for Sal moments for us, although little brother did keep an eye out for bears, just in case (armed with a stick, of course.) Despite the bushes being heavily plundered the day before, we came home with 15lbs. I don’t think any child labor laws were violated. ‘Cause it was fun. And we did not starve. Now, I am officially a hoarder. The freezer is stocked and I can finally use the last cup of berries I was saving from last year. (Lame, I know.)

So, we’re eating muffins for breakfast. Consequently, if you ever want to know how to make blueberry muffins when you’re in Sweden, check out Ursula’s Swedish Kitchen. She’s just a friend. Who lives in Sweden…and cooks.

Mmmmm….muffins.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ursula permalink
    July 13, 2009 8:07 am

    Thanks, Gina! I love reading your blog. And Blueberries For Sal is one of my favorite kids books. I think I need to go find it on the Children's Books bookshelf and read it again, just for fun. Maybe someone will snuggle up with me while I read it…maybe Joe.

  2. Natalie permalink
    July 13, 2009 12:57 pm

    Occaisionally our corner store has blueberry pints for $1, and I buy 8 or 10 at a time and freeze them, this just happened recently, and we've had blueberry pancakes for dinner (we're not really breakfast people) at least 3 nights in the last 2 weeks! YUM!

  3. jessica permalink
    July 14, 2009 11:23 pm

    Yeah!

Leave a Reply

