Skip to content

Casting On: Learning a New Hobby

July 28, 2009

This past weekend, I had the fantastic privilege of being with family that I don’t often see. Reconnecting and enjoying each other was wonderful to say the least. I only wish we had more time together. (awfully glad for Facebook at times like these!)


Anyway, while there, I found someone patient enough to teach me to knit and I’ve been finding my rhythm ever since. What fun! After my sweet cousin taught me the basic knit stitch, all that was left to do was get it right. It was easy enough to find out how to finish off my project (a dishcloth) by watching this video on how to Bind Off. Once that was mastered, I just had to start another one, and found another video about Casting On. I’m telling you, if I can follow those instructions, anyone can. Just think of the whole process as “tying knots with sticks.” Somehow, that made it all make sense to me.

Anyway, now my kids have the knitting bug and although I had heard of finger knitting, I had never tried it. (Also a very simple process with lots of instructional helps from youtube.) Now, we’re all knitting and enjoying learning a new skill. Hope you’re brave enough to give it a try!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan and Chris permalink
    July 28, 2009 12:38 pm

    That's awesome! I haven't heard of finger knitting before! Glad Anne is able to join in on the fun!It was great seeing you!

  2. Susan and Chris permalink
    July 28, 2009 1:04 pm

    ps – I knew you would be a natural at it!

  3. Alisa permalink
    July 28, 2009 4:38 pm

    Gina, I love your blog. So sweet! I also taught myself to knit this year. I find it relaxing and rewarding. I made my hubby a blanket for Christmas and he loves it. Ella wants a new scarf for school. You kind of get into trouble when everyone starts putting in their orders!!:) Thanks for checking my blog.. and for your prayers. I truly appreciate it.

  4. Natalie permalink
    July 28, 2009 5:31 pm

    Even after reading, I'm still incredibly intimidated by the thought of knitting…but go you!

  5. rebecca permalink
    July 29, 2009 12:32 pm

    Aw, you've made me want to knit something! We actually had knitting class at school in SA. I never was any good at binding off soI still have bunches of unfinished items! Also LOVED to finger knit!

  6. Bethany permalink
    July 31, 2009 1:55 pm

    I'm happy for you as I love to knit. Before you know it, you'll be following patterns. I'm working on my first projects following a pattern after many scarves and dish cloths. It's really not as intimidating as it seems if you keep an abbreviation key handy. (Hint: I get the most help from kind "seniors" who hang out at my local yarn store, if you can find a knitting club of some sort as you venture into the unknown, it's a gold mine of information.)

Leave a Reply

