Skip to content

Mama Said There’d Be Days Like This…

July 29, 2009

…so we hung a sign on the door and went about our business! (Well, I would definitely use this if our neighbors weren’t all elderly and we had kids knocking on the door all the time.) If you live in a busy neighborhood and need family time, try it out and let me know how it works!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. rebecca permalink
    July 29, 2009 12:32 pm

    This is too cute! Love it.

  2. randi permalink
    July 29, 2009 9:51 pm

    What a great idea!

  3. Susan permalink
    July 30, 2009 11:16 am

    Love it! I'm going to share it with my friends!

  4. Josh Perry permalink
    July 30, 2009 3:07 pm

    Good post, but no thanks. We just had our 8 year old neighbor over to eat lunch and dinner today. As well as multiple times this week. The most recnet comment was, "I'm like one of the family!" Bring'em on in! Even if you have to say no, at least say it to their face. Seems to cold to me.

  5. sd smith permalink
    July 30, 2009 6:07 pm

    Boundaries are healthy. Compassion is good. Use wisdom and love. Don't cast pearls before swine, give a cup of water. I've seen and heard of many pastors/leaders who have lost their own familes with a "God, you take care of my family and I'll reach out to all the others," kind of approach. That's hellish.Sometimes boundaries are necessary.Esp if it is just for moments. This sign would be cold if employed all the time, or was the over-all impression. But I can see using it in moments where your primary focus is consistantly threatened. But I may be wrong. I'm frequently over-protective. No need to over-correct.OK, I'm done.

  6. mKhulu permalink
    July 30, 2009 7:40 pm

    SD, you write like a father. Me thinks you are Right On. Why I remember times when my children weren't even allowed to play with each other! You da man!

  7. gina permalink
    July 30, 2009 8:56 pm

    Being rude or impolite is definitely not the intention here! Just because people are at home does not always mean they are available.This rings true with me, especially while I am schooling these young'ns. (I've been known to avoid phone calls from time to time, especially if we're on a roll and getting a lot accomplished on that front.) I think this little solution would save my own children some disappointment as well as maintain some friendly, but necessary boundaries with the neighbors. Thanks for all the input! Good thoughts, everyone.

Leave a comment