Skip to content

"Bouquets of Sharpened Pencils "

August 4, 2009

I’m a sucker for art supplies. And taking them places. So here’s a great little combo.

I haven’t quite mastered this concept yet, but I have a goal of keeping creativity at the ready, whenever possible. I was reminded of this last week as I sat in a doctor’s office and waited my turn. I didn’t even bring a book with me, so I was subjected to the eloquence of Sponge Bob Square Pants that was playing on the waiting room T.V. Now, I’m not against a little Sponge Bob humor from time to time, but at least let me have my kids with me so I can enjoy them enjoying. Those snot jokes just aren’t quite as funny when you’re by yourself. In this particular case, the poor woman in the room with me had a swollen eye, so she probably couldn’t see very well and I would venture to say she was feeling too miserable to enjoy it anyway. So back to what I was saying. I could have finished either the knitting project I had started a few days earlier, or the embroidery project I’ve been working on, or even the book I’ve been reading in the time that I was just sitting and waiting. Ugh. Lesson learned? We’ll see. I sure hope so. Hopefully my kids will learn this as well, and we’ll seldom have to worry about being bored while we’re out and resorting to snot jokes to keep us entertained.

So, back to the original link. I’ve got it in my mind to make little bags with art supplies and books to keep in the car so we’ll have things to do in just such situations. We’ll see if it actually happens.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. eleilia permalink
    August 4, 2009 6:51 pm

    Gina, on our recent trip to WV, I quickly threw together folders for each kid that had creative stuff in it. I didn't think they would actually use it, but I was pleasantly surprised that they preferred it over watching videos. I think that your children would love it. It took me all of five minutes to throw stuff together out of our school room, but it provided tons of entertainment. I put in Megan's folder this time envelopes so that she could mail the "cards" that she made. That way when we get to wherever we are going, I can just stamp it and drop it in the mail.

  2. gina permalink
    August 5, 2009 4:48 am

    what a great idea, eleilia! we have a long trip coming up, so this will come in handy.

Leave a Reply

