Skip to content

Doing Laundry with Friends

October 22, 2009

I know that is a weird title. But a couple of months back, I had a great visit with an old friend and her children. The kids got along beautifully so we moms had lots of time to catch up, share ideas and inspiration and chat about nothing and everything. Sometimes you just need a good dose of sweet fellowship. You know what I mean?

(Here she is, getting some baby slobbers to take home with her!)

Anyway, after our visit, I was inspired once again to try making my own laundry detergent. I have done a dry mix before and was pretty unhappy with the results, so when I learned that Sarah used a liquid (sort of) recipe, I just had to give it another go. I’m pretty happy this time around and have decided to continue. If you try this, you’ll still need to spot treat your stains, but she has a great recommendation for that as well!

Here are Sarah’s money-saving calculations, in her own words. (and the recipe/instructions to follow!)


I make it in a five gallon bucket and double the recipe(that way I only have to make it 4 times a year.) It literally takes 10 minutes to make. Use only 1/2c for each load. My old measuring cup from mystore bought dry detergent is what I use. It comes out to be only 1 cent a load!!!I do one load a day which means I am spending only$3.65 on laundry a year!!

Recipe and Instructions:

Shred one bar of soap and melt it in 6 cups of water on stove. After
the soap is melted, add 1/2 c of borax & 1/2 c of washing (not baking)
soda. Stir until disolved. Add 4c of hot water to a 5 gallon bucket, then add your mixture to the bucket. Add an additional 22 c of water. I like to add 1 ounce of clean cotton scented oil from the Dollar Tree for an
extra fresh scent. Let it sit for 24 hours so it will gel (it will
kind of turn into a lumpy gel.) Also, make sure you have a lid for the bucket for safety and because gnats and flies like to get into it (I learned this the hard way.)

The cheapest and best spot cleaner I have found is called Lestoil . I don’t even have to scrub to get out grass stains (which we have a TON of with 2 boys!) It will be near the Pinesol cleaner. Just put it in a spray bottle and treat as

needed.

If you decide to try this, let me know. I hope it works for you. I used Kirk’s Castille bar soap because my children have really sensitive skin. It is working great and we are getting ready to make another batch.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie B permalink
    October 25, 2009 9:29 pm

    I just started using Kirk's as our bath soap, and Greg just asked me the other day when we were going to start making our own laundry detergent. So, I guess I'm gonna give it a go when we run out of our ALL. I'll let you know how it turns out.

  2. eleilia permalink
    November 10, 2009 7:23 pm

    Gina, I have been using a very similar recipe for several months now, and I have used lestoil for years. I love it. Lestoil sometimes has a "bad batch" so I just buy shout for a while. Nick, Pam, and I made some for them when I was home; and he had a great idea of putting the recipe right on the 5 gallon bucket. Thanks for posting:)

Leave a Reply

