Skip to content

Homeschooling Stuff

November 3, 2009

What is it about homeschooling that makes you feel like you need a pep talk every few weeks? Or is that just me? Juggling all of the responsibilities of education and home life can be daunting at times. I’m not the most disciplined of people. (I think getting up early would solve a lot of my discipline issues, but we’re not there yet.) I’m organized about some things and others seem to end up in a disheveled heap. (Just ask my husband. I almost never know where my cellphone and keys are, even though I’ve taken deliberate steps to assign them each a “home.”) Nevertheless, this is the path we have chosen and the situation we are in right now, so I’m really trying hard to not let the education part be what ends up in the heap. Reading about how other people do it and talking to other families in the same situations is always helpful. Here are several links that I found early on in our school year and have gone back to read a few times since, just to gain perspective and get energized again for the task at hand. It really is rewarding.
Here is a super great link about workboxes. I had never heard of them before. But WOW! Fantastic.
Blue Yonder’s homeschooling posts were inspirational and practically speaking, very helpful. This link is to the third post, which links to the first two.


Aimee at Living Learning and Loving Simply is finding her way through life with a newborn while homeschooling her older children. She’s got some simple, but sensible and encouraging thoughts here.

And, it doesn’t hurt to take this approach every now and then. When I start to get down on myself for not completing our list of “to-dos” for the day, I have to remind myself that pretty much everything we do is educational. If it’s quiet in my house, chances are my kids are reading/looking at books, building with blocks, painting, sewing or creating, all of which is educational. Afterall, the world is our classroom. And it’s a great adventure.

Fist bump.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jessica permalink
    November 3, 2009 1:16 pm

    I just want to say that you're NOT alone, gina! Sometimes it's easy to get overwhelmed with things. I am (was) a very organized, disciplined, and borderline OCD person, and it's amazing what kind of shape my brain is in these days! I can't find my phone half the time either. =) I think everyone finds it difficult to keep up at times.

  2. Jamie B permalink
    December 21, 2009 12:10 am

    I'm taking some quiet time to catch up on everyone's blogs this evening, and had to comment on this one! I must say we do get up quite early around here these days, but let me admit this, it has taken me 2 years to get there! It does completely change the course of our days, but when I look back at the last 2 years, I am amazed at how my children learned a ton of plain' ol' good stuff, grew in their character, could meet almost ALL of their CSOs for their respectable grade, and read more than their fair share of stories. They both helped take care of their grandmother as she recovered from hip surgery 2 years ago at Christmas, and then helped take care of me after knee surgery just after last year's Christmas! All of that happened and most mornings we weren't all 3 out of bed til 8:30 or 9…Enjoy your small children and sleeping in a little bit…getting up early isn't ALWAYS all it's cracked up to be!

  3. Jamie B permalink
    December 21, 2009 12:19 am

    I just checked out the link on the boxes. I use a system kind of like that, but this is much better. It has solutions for some of the areas of my system that haven't been working. Good stuff. I am thinking I am going to be up too late catching up and tomorrow morning may be one of those 8:30 or 9ish mornings…

Leave a Reply

