Skip to content

Big Storm! Get Inside!

December 21, 2009

We’ve been buried under mountains of snow here and loving every minute. Major blessing in the midst of it all: our electricity stayed on! I can handle being snowed in when I have all modern conveniences still at my fingertips. HUGE sigh of relief. I did, however, start on a major cleaning frenzy when the sky started dumping on us Friday afternoon. After narrowly escaping being stranded for hours on end, I jumped right in on the laundry, (a week’s worth in about 3 hrs!) vacuuming, straightening, and oh yes, a nice hot shower (just in case I might not get one for a few days.) I was totally prepared to be without power and to make the best of it, but instead got to enjoy it all with light, heat ,hot water and a clean house. Score! It was even better once we knew all our family members were warm and safe as well. Who has two thumbs and is super thankful? This girl right here.

Anyone else have their housekeeping instincts on full throttle when uncertainty is at its peak? Or am I just weird? Seems like I go on a major cleaning spree when I suspect that we are coming down with an illness or when I know we may be without heat or water or something. Please tell me I’m not the only one who does this.

Hope your last week of Advent is blessed and happy. Although, some of us may have a little more last minute prepping to do thanks to this winter wallop, eh?

One more thing. The title of this post goes way back. I had a friend in high school who loved to shout out of his car window at people walking on the sidewalk. “Big storm! Get inside!” he would yell. I guess it was funnier then. (and to two teenagers at that) But it still cracks me up. It has become a family joke. And now you are a part of it. All five of you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Natalie permalink
    December 22, 2009 2:34 am

    Hey Gina, I can relate- this last week we had a little illness scare, and I deep cleaned like never before…now that we're in the clear the house is messy again though 🙂

  2. rebecca permalink
    December 23, 2009 10:29 am

    I love inside jokes. I'd like to be a part of one someday.

Leave a Reply

