Skip to content

On Hand

January 17, 2010

I like having things on hand. It’s taken me a long time to get around to it, but after reading a couple of posts several months ago, I decided this was something I wanted to work toward. As life gets busier and busier, I really want to try and streamline things and organize as much as I can around here, the kitchen being one of the prime areas that needs focus. At the same time, I have a strong desire to cook from scratch and still be able to access food conveniently and quickly. It’s all starting to come together now, and it mostly revolves around jars.

After reading Tonia’s post here about planning ahead, the wheels started turning, and I decided to invest in a dozen wide mouth quart size canning jars. One morning, I just mixed up several batches of all the dry ingredients for blueberry muffins, pizza dough and biscuit mix and put them in these jars. I labeled them with a dry erase marker, stuck them in a basket and put them on a shelf, ready for action. They have proven to be very useful. This”resolution” (if you want to call it that) is going to stick.

Reading Aimee’s post about jars also got me thinking about all the things I could store in them and so I started collecting. (By collecting, I mean saving them once we empty them…a pickle jar here, a jelly jar there. And oh, the salsa that gets consumed in this house. Those jars are the best!) So slowly but surely, things around here are finding glass homes and it feels good. (I even have a jar for stray Legos that get missed when it’s cleanup time and we end up pulling them out of the baby’s mouth.)


Now that things are being organized, I would actually like to make these jars more aesthetically pleasing, like this. Not that there’s anything wrong with having our math manipulatives labeled as ‘mild’….but that’s for another day.

What do you have that needs a home?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie B permalink
    January 20, 2010 11:35 am

    this is great, don't know how many times a day I pull out my wheat flour from behind the white flour to then pull out the brown sugar behind the regular sugar…it goes on and on…this is definitely something that would help me out…since we cut out cereal, fixing oatmeal has become my staple – but if I could just grab a jar for my pancake mix by scratch, I'd be much more apt to do those more than just one or two days a week…thanks for the tips, and links of course, good job

  2. *HoLLi jO* permalink
    January 20, 2010 12:09 pm

    Hey Gina, where did you find those Math bears? Luke Occupational Therapist has been trying to find them for him, but can't find them anymore…. Let me know, please! šŸ™‚

  3. Natalie permalink
    January 22, 2010 12:13 am

    I organized my spices this way, we save our glass jars too- thanks for the tips!

Leave a Reply

