Skip to content

Cuppa Somethin’

January 25, 2010

There are many times when I find myself feeling irritated and snappish toward my children, without a specific reason. Perhaps there is a lot on the proverbial plate these days, and the more I go and go and fail to stop and rest, the more frequently I tend to get a failing grade in this department. Not an excuse, just a reality. I’ve tried to take notice when signs of these sorts of meltdowns take place. That’s why I really appreciated Amy’s post at the end of last week. She’s having a cup of sanity….perhaps I’ll have one as well. Here’s an excerpt in her own words, although if you have time to read it all, I feel sure you’ll relate.

…instead of whining and complaining or getting into one of those husband/wife conversations about who is more tired, I thought I would just make a plan to take care of myself…

…Times of retreat are so necessary and needed. And not once in a great while or when we are completely fried and burned-out, but as a way of life. We cannot effectively take care of those we love if we aren’t consistently being filled up in all areas…

Usually, all it takes for me is a little time to be creative, take a drive, listen to some music, or whatever else I wouldn’t normally get to do on my own without an audience or an interruption. It’s amazing how just a little time to think (or NOT think!) can do wonders for my outlook and refresh my inner being. We can make jokes about “me” time, but seriously…it’s necessary for survival sometimes. Don’t you think? When you have an opportunity to refresh, what’s first on your ‘to do’ list? What’s in your cup of sanity?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

