Skip to content

Weekend Sewing

February 10, 2010

My hubs got this book for me this Christmas. It’s full of projects I’d like to try. I just have to pace myself, as evidenced by the hours I spent on this project a couple of weekends ago. (I wonder if the author, Heather Ross has kids present during her weekend sewing marathons…)

I’m definitely learning to sew in stages. I think one of the reasons I haven’t done as much sewing and reading in the past few years  is because I’m an “all or nothing” kind of person.  Typically, I want to finish the WHOLE project or the ENTIRE book in one sitting, as opposed to stretching it out. This just isn’t practical in my situation, so having kiddos around sort of forces me to sew in stages. Not a bad development, to be sure.

After doing all my cutting one weekday evening, I was able to finish this project in a reasonable amount of time a couple of Saturdays ago. It is called the everything tote–a fitting name, as it is huge and holds a LOT. The fabric is an old tablecloth, lined with a sheet I found at a yardsale.  I’m pretty happy with the results!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

